About The Prize

The Mission

The Ebell Women’s Club of Los Angeles was founded in 1894 “to interest women in the study of all branches of literature, art and science, and the advancement of women in every branch of culture.” Our motto: “I will find a way or make one — I serve.”

Past Winners

Read about the 2015 winning playwrights.  Read about our Read about our 2014 winners.

The Prize

The Ebell held a playwriting contest in 1928. Today we continue that tradition with the Ebell Playwright Prize, founded to encourage and celebrate California women playwrights. The first-prize winner is awarded $5,000 and a staged reading, followed by supper at the historic Ebell of Los Angeles. Second-prize winner receives a $1,000 award. Third-prize winner receives a $500 award. We look forward to many years of honoring women writers.

2016 Judges
Mary-Pat Green   Susan Isaacs   Ellen Sandler

 Advisory Board
Anne Gee Byrd  • Debra Cardona-Depeahul
Andi Chapman • Jeanie Hackett • Allison Janney
Jessica Kubzansky • Michael Learned
Kamala Lopez • Laurie Metcalf • Ellen Sandler
Laurie Scheer • Peregrine Whittlesey

2016 Director
Elina deSantos

The Ebell Of Los Angeles

To learn more about the historic Ebell Club, visit their blog.

%d bloggers like this: